SIJHL announces its 2018-19 award finalists

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Friday the finalists for each of its individual awards for the 2018-19 regular season.

Voting for each of these honours was completed by each member club in the SIJHL.

Out of these finalists, the winner of each individual honour will be announced over the course of the coming days leading up to the conclusion of the Bill Salonen Cup playoffs.

Listed below are the nominees for the 2018-19 SIJHL awards.

The candidates are listed alphabetically in order of their team: Dryden GM Ice Dogs; Fort Frances Lakers; Minnesota Iron Rangers; Red Lake Miners; Thief River Falls Norskies and Thunder Bay North Stars.

Mallons Corporate Impressions/Play It Again Sports MVP
Eric Stout, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
Bryce Young, Red Lake Miners
Keighan Gerrie, Thunder Bay North Stars

Best Defenceman
Dante Tisi, Red Lake Miners
Connor Bowey, Thief River Falls Norskies
Kyle Auger, Thunder Bay North Stars

Top Goaltender
Zach Willms, Red Lake Miners
Bailey Schmitz, Thief River Falls Norskies
Brock Aiken, Thunder Bay North Stars

Rookie of the Year
Rayman Bassi, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
Bryce Young, Red Lake Miners
Bryce Johnson, Thief River Falls Norskies

Best Defensive Forward
Trey Palermo, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
Stratton Pickett, Red Lake Miners
Jacob Brown, Thunder Bay North Stars

Most Improved Player
Stratton Pickett, Red Lake Miners
Boe Bjorge, Thief River Falls Norskies
Joel Willan, Thunder Bay North Stars

Most Sportsmanlike Player
Jacob Siebenga, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
Nick Lucas, Fort Frances Lakers
Stratton Pickett, Red Lake Miners

Coach of the Year
Derek Sweet-Coulter, Red Lake Miners
Wilson Housley, Thief River Falls Norskies
Rob DeGagne, Thunder Bay North Stars

The following other SIJHL awards will be announced and presented at a future date:

The SIJHL First and Second All-Star teams; regular season leading scorer (Most points); The CJHL Jr. ‘A’ Scholarship; the Gary Cook Memorial Award; the Most Valuable Playoff Performer; the Bill Salonen Cup Playoff Champion and the SIJHL Team Community Award.

Earning the league’s regular season title earlier were the Thunder Bay North Stars as they have already secured top spot in the SIJHL standings and the No. 1 seed in the upcoming playoffs.