SIJHL names its 2019-20 award finalists

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Tuesday the finalists for each of its individual awards for the 2019-20 regular season.

Voting for each of these honours was completed by each member club in the SIJHL.

Out of these finalists, the winner of each individual honour will be announced over the course of the coming days leading up to the conclusion of the Bill Salonen Cup playoffs.

Listed below are the nominees for the 2019-20 SIJHL awards.

The candidates are listed alphabetically in order of their team: Dryden GM Ice Dogs; Fort Frances Lakers; Red Lake Miners; Thief River Falls Norskies; Thunder Bay North Stars and Wisconsin Lumberjacks.

Mallons Corporate Impressions/Play It Again Sports MVP
Zach Willms, Red Lake Miners
Jack Michels, Thief River Falls Norskies
Cody Bruchkowski, Thunder Bay North Stars

Best Defenceman
Carson Lux, Red Lake Miners
Connor Kalthoff, Thief River Falls Norskies
Logan Mihalcin, Thunder Bay North Stars

Top Goaltender
Jacob Anthony, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
Zach Willms, Red Lake Miners
Hunter Adams, Wisconsin Lumberjacks

Rookie of the Year
Amraj Gill, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
Ryan Howe, Red Lake Miners
Nikolas Campbell, Thunder Bay North Stars

Best Defensive Forward
Shaye Sommerfeld, Red Lake Miners
Bryce Johnson, Thief River Falls Norskies
Jacob Brown, Thunder Bay North Stars

Most Improved Player
Xavier Halterman, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
Noah Loveday, Fort Frances Lakers
Nick Harder, Thief River Falls Norskies

Most Sportsmanlike Player
Ben Hoefler, Fort Frances Lakers
Bryce Johnson, Thief River Falls Norskies
Jacob Brown, Thunder Bay North Stars

Coach of the Year
Geoff Walker, Red Lake Miners
Wilson Housley, Thief River Falls Norskies
Robert Degagne, Thunder Bay North Stars

The following other SIJHL awards will be announced and presented at a future date:

The SIJHL First and Second All-Star teams; regular season leading scorer (Most points); The CJHL Jr. ‘A’ Scholarship; the Gary Cook Memorial Award; the Most Valuable Playoff Performer; the Bill Salonen Cup Playoff Champion and the SIJHL Team Community Award.

Earning the league’s regular season title earlier is the Thunder Bay North Stars as they have already secured top spot in the SIJHL standings and the No. 1 seed in the upcoming playoffs.